Asp – Fremd

ASP’s new album is a uniquely intensified blend of all the essential elements which have made ASP what they are today: the foremost German gothic rock project. Asp Spreng, singer, composer, lyricist, and the heart and mind behind the project, takes the listener by the hand in the manner of a mysterious stranger and leads you into a dark kingdom without, however, allowing you to sink into hopelessness. As he searches for the shades of melancholy, ASP evokes a powerful spell which makes an enchanted as well as disturbing experience from the epically long pieces. The album wafts like a wisp of spectral fog from an English moor in Victorian times across the cold streets of today.

“Fremd” is a musical reinvention which nevertheless feels so familiar, as if this project had never sounded any different. It is a musical and lyrical coup which boasts an additional highlight owing to the spectacular cover artwork by Timo Würz. His artwork will enrich the first part of the “Fremd” cycle with a graphical style never before achieved. But as sombre, unsettling, teeth-baring, melancholy and plaintive as “Fremd” may be, the twinkle of an eye can likewise be sensed once again, a subtle humour nevertheless resonating between the lines like a strong, emotionally-charged intimacy when ASP bares his emotions for the listener.  He has never sounded more convincing, the lyrics never more expressive, the music never more substantial. A new era has begun – and never before has it been so worth the wait.

The limited edition of the album comes as a double CD in hardcover book format (14x21cms) with Singer sewn signatures, a 40-page booklet on art print including all lyrics and additional artwork. It also comes with a hand-numbered certificate of authenticity, personally signed by ASP. For the bonus CD, ASP wanted a very different feel, and so recorded some tracks, added some new additional ones and rearranged them. In addition, a cover version of the Nik Kershaw classic “Wouldn’t It Be Good” is to be heard in two magnificent versions. The CD also features two videos: one of ASP’s legendary appearance with SUBWAY TO SALLY, performing “Ich Will Brennen” as a pure rock anthem, and the other of latest single “Wechselbalg”, performed at the frenetically celebrated co-headlining appearance at 2011’s M’Era Luna festival.


Disc 1:-
01. A Prayer for Sanctuary
02. Wechselbalg
03. Eisige Wirklichkeit
04. The Mysterious Vanishing of the Foremar Family
05. Rücken an Rücken
06. Angstkathedrale (Canterbury Version)
07. Schön, Schön, Schön
08. FremdkörPerson, Erstens
09. Unverwandt

Disc 2:-
01. Wouldn’t It Be good
02. Wechselbalg (THE DEMMLER TWINS Remix)
03. Unverwandt (Some Tribute Paid in the Reptile House)
04. Angstkathedrale (Meditation Church)
05. Wouldn’t it be good (Sicksicksick Maxi)
06. The Mysterious Vanishing of the Foremar Family (ASP’s Von Zaubererbrüdern Fassung)
07. Ich Will Brennen (Videoclip: SUBWAY TO SALLY featuring ASP, live at Eisheilige Nächte, Potsdam, 2010)
08. Wechselbalg (Videoclip: live at the M’Era Luna Festival 2011)

Additional Info

Please note: this item is limited edition, so we cannot guarantee being able to source it. However, we will make all reasonable endeavours to do so.

Record Label


Release date

21st Oct 2011