Ataraxia – Llyr

Three years after the last studio Album ‘Kremasta Nera’, Ataraxia is back with a marvellous new album on Prikosnovenie! Llyr (Lyra) is the name of the instrument of the Bards and the Greek lyrical poets; a sacred musical instrument visually inspired by the grace and nobleness of the swans.

Ataraxia, in this voyage, played the following instruments: classical-, folk- and 12 strings-guitars, chitarra battente, keyboards, flutes, sitar, gamelan, daf, frame drums, santoor, tablas, zard and bells. Female vocals are sometimes accompanied by male vocals.

This new album is a new story inspired by pagan myths, feminine celebrations of Mother Nature, celtic traditions… Ataraxia and her charismatic singer Francesca Nicoli have created their very own, uncomparable genre of music: a cosmogenic dark folk praying for Beauty.


Released on Prikosnovenie and available March 30th, 2010.

01 Sigillat
02 Scarborough Fair
03 Quintaluna
04 Llyr
05 Elldamaar (part 1)
06 Evnyssien
07 Klepsydra
08 Elldamaar (part 2)
09 Payatry Mantra
10 Borea