Absent Without Leave – Postcards From Nowhere

Active Imagepress release:

Two years after his highly acclaimed debut album bon voyage on unlabel and after two eps, three split releases and numerous appearances on compilation albums, on labels such as chat blanc, duotone, bsbta, his own sound in silence and many others too, absent without leave makes a long-awaited return with his new full-length album on distant noise records, called postcards from nowhere.
The album is calming, melancholic and optimistic in equal parts and there is always the aura of dreams, nostalgia and romanticism in it. It’s a mixture of cinematic ambient, mellow shoegaze and melodic post-rock. Delicately picked and opiated chiming guitars, subtle drum machines, ethereal keyboards, glockenspiel with an almost lullaby feel, loops, samples and other instruments combine to form a rich in atmospheric soundscapes and warmth album. Blending influences ranging from the dreamy melodies of artists such as piano magic, hood, slowdive and july skies to the ambience of sigur ros, yellow6 and labradford and also the experimentation of godspeed you! black emperor and bark psychosis.
The album is part of a series of 12 cd’s that distant noise records will release in 2008, one per month. Other artists involved in the series are televise (ex-slowdive), yellow6, jessica bailiff, the static silence (members of air formation, experimental aircraft, eau claire…), schengen and others too.

The artwork for the series is created by Ben Curzon (planet mu, make mine music, amongst others) and the 12 cd covers, once seen together, will form one image.

absent without leave has collaborated for split releases with artists like yellow6, kimonophonic and others and he is now  working on a forthcoming split with port-royal. He has played live with artists like piano magic, mum and manyfingers amongst others and his music has been played on some of the best radio stations worldwide like BBC 6 Music, Resonance FM and many others too.